Help with IR LEDs: Powering, Wiring & Resistor Questions

• Thread starter MOzebra
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ir Leds
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of IR LEDs in a project and the need for assistance in determining the power and resistor requirements for the LEDs. The individual has limited knowledge in electronics but has found a resource that may be helpful. They also mention the possibility of using a board to wire the LEDs and inquire about the difference between wiring them in series and parallel. The conversation ends with a question about calculating the number of LEDs that can be powered by a specific voltage source.
MOzebra
I have a project in mind that I need help with IR LEDs. I'm not an electricity expert; actually, I have almost no experience in electronics. I had an idea for a project and now I'm just trying to make it work. I will need to power a number of IR LEDs at one time for a continuous period. Is there a way to figure out how much power I will need per IR LED? Also, what type of resistors will I need and how will I need to wire it inline with the LEDs? Does each LED need a resistor or can I run a few LEDs off of a resistor?

I appreciate your help and I apologize for my lack of expertise on the matter.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Ok, I hate to admit it, but I'm kind of lost with that. I'll look over it again tomorrow when I get the chance and hopefully it will make more sense. I was planning on wiring everything up inline. Would it just be easier to make a board and wire them all up to the board?

The IR LEDs won't really serve a purpose other than just turning on.

MOzebra said:
Ok, I hate to admit it, but I'm kind of lost with that. I'll look over it again tomorrow when I get the chance and hopefully it will make more sense. I was planning on wiring everything up inline. Would it just be easier to make a board and wire them all up to the board?

The IR LEDs won't really serve a purpose other than just turning on.