Radio frequency creating light

In summary, Sophie thinks that she can create light with a prism and a radio transmitter, but she doesn't know how to do it and doesn't have access to a radio frequency emitter.
rudolf141
hi guys ,

I d like to ask you some comments and recommendations, I am an undergrad working ,trying to, on a project.
I was thinking that if I could connect an antenna to a prism and then create light of different wavelength which could be used for ...I don t know photoelectric effect and so on... in LED perhaps.

sorry for any mistakes

please any comments or recommendations for a textbook which would make it clearer ,antennas and all the above, it s more electrical engeneering and I m a physics student

thank you all, Regards

Science news on Phys.org
How would the antenna create visible light? Radio waves would go through the prism most likely. Also you cannot combine the radio waves to make visible light either. At least not with a prism.

To 'get' visible light out of radio waves, you need to be very near to a radio transmitter and then use an antenna with a tuned circuit. This passive receiving set 'could' produce enough volts to drive an LED.

But the energy of RF photons is very low and the energy of visible light photons is millions of times more so you couldn't get direct conversion that way..

hi! I don't know about radio waves, but i have experienced with microwaves.
Ones need to have diodes which are sensibel toward waves of a certain frequency. It is like solar cells which are sensibel by visible light and are able to transfers (or creats ?) photons of visible light in electrons and positrons (some body calls them holes) which move in oposite directions and voila ! difference of potential. If this potential is big enough you may conect a lamp in circuit and have light.