Recent CE Grad, Want to Pursue Masters in Physics

In summary, the person graduated with a degree in civil engineering, but now wants to pursue physics and is considering going back to school. They have a low GPA due to lack of interest in their CE classes and now need to take undergraduate courses to prepare for graduate school. They are unsure about the best approach for their situation and are considering career options in research or teaching, but are concerned about student loan debt. They also mention their interest in fluids and how it sparked their appreciation for math.
cowmoo32
I graduated with a degree in civil engineering in Dec 2010, but only after realizing a year prior that I would rather study physics, so now I'm considering going back to school. I'll be honest, the only CE class that interested me was fluid dynamics and I put as little effort into my other classes as was required to pass, so my graduating GPA wasn't that great: 2.4xx. In the beginning I had no plans for grad school, so by the time I had decided I wanted to pursue physics it was too late to save my GPA.

Fast forward to now, and I'm trying to figure out what to do. I've taken up through calc III, had a couple basic physics courses, and took one 300 level physics course for fun, but not for a grade. In order to get into a masters program, I need to take the GRE specific to physics, and I would undoubtedly fail with flying colors. What I really need is a solid 1.5-2 years of undergrad classes to catch up and prepare myself for graduate school. So this is where I'm stuck: Do I apply as a freshman? Do I try and apply as a grad student and hopefully talk someone into hearing me out?