What is analytic continuation?

In summary, analytic continuation is the process of extending the domain of a function without losing its differentiability, also known as holomorphic or meromorphic property. This concept is often used in complex analysis, specifically in the study of the Riemann zeta function. It involves finding another Laurent series that overlaps with the original one, allowing for a larger domain of validity. However, not all power series have continuations, as there are cases where the function is only defined on a specific domain. To understand the Riemann zeta function, a strong background in analysis and number theory is necessary, but there are also simpler resources available for those interested in a general understanding.
cragwolf
I don't understand the concept of analytic continuation, at any level (I have some small amount of experience with introductory undergraduate-level complex analysis from a long time ago, mostly forgotten):

1) Firstly, why would you want to apply analytic continuation on some complex function?

2) Surely if you apply analytic continuation on some complex function, then it's no longer the same function?

3) What is analytic continuation, really?

I came across this concept when I was reading about the Riemann hypothesis in some popular articles and books. They mentioned that the Riemann zeta function is the infinite sum of [tex]1/n^s[/tex] over natural numbers, n, but this is only the case when the real part of s is greater than 1; values of the Riemann zeta function for the rest of the complex plane may be found via analytic continuation.