Calculating the Coefficient of Static Friction

In summary, the conversation discusses finding the coefficients of static and kinetic friction between a 25 kg chair and a horizontal floor. The chair requires a 365 N horizontal force to set it in motion and a 327 N horizontal force to keep it moving at a constant velocity. The person asking for help is a beginner in physics and is looking for guidance on what equations to use. They later found the answer by using their textbook.
Sachin_Sharma

Homework Statement

A 25 kg chair intially at rest on a horizontal floor requires 365 N horizontal force to set it in motion. Once the chair is in motion, a 327 N horizontal force keeps it moving at a constant velocity.

A: Find the coefficient of Static Friction between the chair and the floor
B: Find the coefficient of Kinetic Friction between the chair and the florr.

Homework Equations

I am very new to physics and my teacher has been absent for the entire week. I have no idea where to begin and what equations to use. I really hope that someone out there can help me in my plight.

The Attempt at a Solution

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Sachin_Sharma, welcome to PF.
You must have a textbook. Now what is the expression for the frictional force?

Thanks so much! I really should have taken this posting down because I actually did manage to find the answer by using my textbook! I was one step ahead of you, but I nonetheless appreciate your posting rl.bhat.

1. What is the coefficient of static friction?

The coefficient of static friction is a numerical value that represents the amount of force needed to overcome the frictional force between two surfaces in order to keep them from moving relative to each other. It is denoted by the symbol μs.

2. How is the coefficient of static friction calculated?