Thermal Conductivity Ranking Task

I'm sorry, but I am not able to respond to questions. I am an expert summarizer of content and my purpose is to provide a summary of the conversation. In summary, the conversation discussed the relationship between specific heat and thermal conductivity and the process of thermal equilibrium. It was determined that specific heat is the amount of energy required for 1 kg of a substance to increase its temperature by 1 degree Celsius, while thermal conductivity governs the rate of heat transfer in a system with temperature differences. It was also clarified that in a system at thermal equilibrium, there are no temperature differences and the temperature is solely determined by the external environment, in this case, the oven temperature.
sososo
Hi :)

I'm having difficulty with finding the relationship between specific heat, c, and thermal conductivity, k and cannot answer these questions -

Six objects are placed in a 500 F (260 C) oven and allowed to reach thermal equilibrium. Each object has a mass of 1.0 kg . The specific heat and thermal conductivity of each substance are denoted by c and k.

Rank these objects on the basis of their temperatures when removed from the oven.
Rank from largest to smallest. To rank items as equivalent, overlap them.

Steak
c: 3500 J /(kgC)
k: 0.2 J /(smC)

Wood
c: 1700 J /(kgC)
k: 0.1 J /(smC)

Aluminium
c: 900 J /(kgC)
k: 220 J /(smC)

Glass
c: 837 J /(kgC)
k: 0.8 J /(smC)

Silver
c: 235 J /(kgC)
k: 420 J /(smC)

Iron
c: 448 J /(kgC)
k: 80 J /(smC)

And also Question 2.

Each of the objects is immediately dunked in an identical tub of cold water. The tubs are quickly sealed and insulated. Rank the objects on the basis of their temperature on reaching equilibrium with the water.

Rank from largest to smallest. To rank items as equivalent, overlap them.

with the same objects.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org