Christoffel Symbols: Exploring the First and Second Kinds

In summary, the conversation revolved around the use and significance of Christoffel symbols in the study of C. symbols for G.R. class. The discussion also touched upon the differences between C.s. of the first and second kind, their applications in neuroscience and their transformation properties. The final conclusion was that Christoffel symbols are useful mathematical objects that measure the difference between derivatives in the coordinate plane and the rate of change along the actual surface.
student85
Hi guys, I'm studying C. symbols for my G.R. class and have some doubts I hope you can clear out. First, I just saw this in the wikipedia article for C.s.:
0 = gik;l= gik;l - gmk [itex]\Gamma[/itex]mil - gim [itex]\Gamma[/itex]mkl

By permuting the indices, and resumming, one can solve explicitly for the Christoffel symbols:

[itex]\Gamma[/itex]ikl = [itex]\frac{1}{2}[/itex]gim (THREE TERMS GO HERE)
I tried hard to write the three terms in Latex but I couldn't so I apologize... the expression I am referring to is here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christoffel_symbols
Go down a little to where it says Definition... the 2nd and 3rd expressions are the ones I am referring to.
So my question is... how do they get from 0 = gik;l= gik;l - gmk [itex]\Gamma[/itex]mil - gim [itex]\Gamma[/itex]mkl to the next expression, what steps did they follow?

I also have a general question about C.s. ... As far as I know, C.s. of the second kind are used quite frequently, much more that those of the first kind... What are these C.s. of the first kind for then? What do they mean compared to those of the second kind and why are the latter more frequent?
Thanks a lot for any help... you can also just comment on C.s. I'd appreciate it.

Physics news on Phys.org
student85 said: