Proving F is Conservative & Finding Potential Function

In summary: Thank You, again. Our class got behind so we had to learn this stuff fast, so I'm not that good at it yet.
killersanta

Homework Statement

F= <y, x+2y>

Show F is conservative and determine potential function.(Determine Phi so that gradient phi = F)

The Attempt at a Solution

F= <y, x+2y> = <phi-x, phi-y>

Phi-x = y-------------> Phi = yx + Cy------Part respect to Y----> = (Y^2/2)X

I'm not sure what's I am doing wrong, or what to do from here??

Physics news on Phys.org
From [itex]\phi _x = y[/itex], you should get [itex]\phi = xy + c(y)[/itex], where c is a function of y alone. Is that what you meant by c(y)? Please be more clear with your work. What do you mean by "Part respect to Y----> = (Y^2/2)X"?

killersanta said:

Homework Statement

F= <y, x+2y>

Show F is conservative and determine potential function.(Determine Phi so that gradient phi = F)

The Attempt at a Solution

F= <y, x+2y> = <phi-x, phi-y>

Phi-x = y-------------> Phi = yx + Cy------Part respect to Y----> = (Y^2/2)X

I'm not sure what's I am doing wrong, or what to do from here??

You went the wrong way. You partially integrated with respect to y, when you should have partially differentiated with respect to y.

snipez90 said:
From [itex]\phi _x = y[/itex], you should get [itex]\phi = xy + c(y)[/itex], where c is a function of y alone. Is that what you meant by c(y)? Please be more clear with your work. What do you mean by "Part respect to Y----> = (Y^2/2)X"?
I meant i was integrating, with respect to y.

Char. Limit said:
You went the wrong way. You partially integrated with respect to y, when you should have partially differentiated with respect to y.

So it would be Phi-y = x + C(y) ?

If so, isn't this the part where you put it in a function? If so, how do I do that. I'm looking at my notes, and not seeing how to do it.

killersanta said:
I meant i was integrating, with respect to y.

So it would be Phi-y = x + C(y) ?