Engineering undergrad in need of some guidence.

In summary, the speaker is currently an Aerospace Engineering student who has been accepted to transfer into the Mechanical Engineering Department. They are concerned that an Aerospace degree may limit their job options in terms of type, location, and industry. They are considering switching majors but are unsure if they will have another chance to transfer into ME. They are also interested in Mechatronics and Fluid Mechanics, which are concentrations in the ME degree. They are looking for advice and personal experiences to help them make a decision. The speaker acknowledges that there is a lot of crossover between the two disciplines in the aerospace industry and asks for clarification on whether an ME degree would still be valuable in this field. They also suggest considering their specific interests within aerospace and how they align with ME
seanistic
Hi,
I am currently an Aerospace Engineering student at UT-Austin and this summer I was accepted to transfer into the Mechanical Engineering Department. Here is my problem, I have been interested in aviation since I was a 10 so the ASE degree should be perfect for me but I am afraid the ASE degree will limit my options of job type, location, and industry. I know ME is a much more broad degree and will allow me to have a greater selection of what type of industry I want to work. I have till the end of the summer to decided if I would like to switch majors and I doubt I will have another chance at transferring into ME because of how competitive it is (not really sure how I pulled it off this time). I have a number of friends in ASE who are desperately trying to get into ME but have gotten rejected the last two semesters and I'm afraid if I pass this up I won't have another chance. I should also add that I am interested in Mechatronics and Fluid Mechanics which are concentrations in the ME degree so I am not basing my decision just on job opportunities.