Useful courses for topological quantum computing

In summary: I'm not sure about that - I think you should do as much physics as you can in undergrad so you have a good foundation.
Monocles
I recently took a great interest in topological quantum computing - so great an interest I am even considering it as a thesis topic for grad school (though I am still a junior undergrad and have awhile to figure that out). What would be some useful courses to take to pursue theoretical research in this field, besides the typical courses a physics undergrad would take (complex analysis, PDEs, numerical analysis, etc.). Would actually taking a topology class in the math department be useful, or would I take some topology-for-physics style class in grad school? Howabout modern algebra? Information theory? What about algebraic topology? As it stands, I may not be able to take topology before I graduate (it depends on what I end up doing this spring), but I would be able to take algebraic topology.

Physics news on Phys.org
I've never gotten into topological quantum computing, but I know enough to start learning it so I should at least be able to point you in the right direction.

As you say, all the typical courses a physics undergrad would take and especially quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, relativity and quantum field theory. I'll just assume you're doing all the physics you need.

It's really hard to say how much maths you need, but as a theorist it will be quite a bit. Mathematicians and physicists have quite different aims, but it's not really until very end undergraduate/beginning of postgrad that the divergence becomes really significant.

Nevertheless if you have any inclination I would strongly recommend courses in (rough order of increasing difficulty/abstraction):
abstract algebra, topology, linear analysis (stuff like Hilbert spaces and Reisz representation theorem), Lie algebras.

This is a good background for the quantum mechanical part.