Electronic or Software Engineering?

In summary, the conversation discusses the usefulness of electronic engineering and software engineering in everyday life. The speaker enjoys both building and designing things as well as programming, but is unsure which major to pursue. They have self-taught knowledge in engineering and are currently studying economics, but have no interest in pursuing a career in that field. They are seeking advice on which major would be more useful in general.
geft
I love them both. Which one do you think is more useful? Which one has more general application in everyday life?

Physics news on Phys.org
Both have many great applications to everyday life.

In order to decide you should ask yourself, do you enjoy physically building and designing things. If so, think about electronic engineering. You get to do a lot of physical designing and also a lot of programming. With software engineering you will probably do more in depth programming, but there won't be much physical engineering involved.

I love physics as well as building and designing things. I like taking old gadgets apart but since I have no knowledge in electronics, I ended up putting them back together without learning anything useful. I'm also passionate in learning how gadgets work and what makes them tick. I regularly hang out at HowStuffWorks and Wikipedia to learn about various electronic marvels, including military technology.

Programming is useful since I interact with software every single day. I self-studied a bit of C++ online and regularly amuse myself automating with AutoIt or writing in LaTeX. I even learn reverse engineering to the point where I can crack simple programs (but it's very easy, so not saying much). Of course I can never get far from self-studying since I learn everything online and I can't find a well-structured curriculum.