Nova/Supernova seen on Dec 26?

• Thread starter DMuitW
  • Start date
In summary, an amateur astrophotographer observed two non-existent bright sources near Regulus, which peaked in brightness for 30 seconds before one of them dimmed suddenly and the other dimmed slowly over 10 seconds. These objects were not moving and had a brightness of around -1, ruling out planes or satellites. It is likely that they were Iridium flares, which can be seen in the sky for 7 days based on location.
DMuitW
Hi all,
I’m an amateur astrophotographer, and while I was I was shooting frames just this morning (approx 5.50GMT, Dec 26), something very peculiar was seen.Two non-existent bright sources (approx 4 or 5° apart) were popping up around next to Regulus, and peaked in brightness almost immediately.
They remained like this for around 30 seconds, after which one of the sources dimmed nearly instantaneous, whereas the other dimmed over the next 10 seconds to almost invisible with the naked eye. I was too slow to send my telescope in the right direction, but have managed to shoot some follow up frames thereafter, which I am processing now.
The brightness of the objects was around -1, and they were non-moving. As such, this would rule out planes/satellites.
What could this have been? Have there been any other reports?

Kind regards,
Matt

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Here is a site that you can send your report to.

http://www.supernovae.net/snimages/vsnet.html" [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator:
Does this description sound familiar? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipe...April_3#an_extra_star_in_the_big_dipper.3F.21

They're not supernovae/novae if they disappeared in 30 seconds, because supernovae/novae take weeks to brighten and fade out. One possibility is a high-orbiting, slowly rotating satellite. It could be orbiting so slowly that you didn't notice movement, and rotating slowly enough that you saw glare from the Sun for 30 seconds.