Is doing physics in england worth wasting 3 years ?

In summary: England!)In summary, if you are a high school student in Egypt, your high school certificate is only equivalent to the GCSEs in England, so you will have to retake high school again but you will also have to wait one more year to gain home student status which gives you the right to apply for a university student loan. However, a physics Ph.D. takes about two years longer in Canada than in England, so if you are ambitious you might want to consider studying in Canada.
B4ssHunter
i am currently a high school student in egypt , and due to the stupid difference between education systems , the high school certificate from egypt is only equivalent to the GCSEs in england , so if i do go to england , i will have to spend another 2 years of my life taking high school AGAIN but that's not only it , i will have to wait one more year to gain home student status which gives me the right to apply for a university student loan * note : i am a british/egyptian citizen * , so i will be doing undergraduate school at the age of 21 !
does starting university at 21 give younger students an advantage over me ?
specially if i succeed and make it to the phds , i will probably finish my phd in my early thirties while there will be other students who finish it at the age of 27 !
or should i study physics here in egypt , then move on to get an MSc in england ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Would another English-speaking country accept Egyptian high school? Maybe Canada? Canada has no GSCEs or A levels. If you've done 12 grades in Egypt chances are you qualified for university in Canada.

TheAbsoluTurk said:
Would another English-speaking country accept Egyptian high school? Maybe Canada? Canada has no GSCEs or A levels. If you've done 12 grades in Egypt chances are you qualified for university in Canada.

you are right Canada does not have any requirements but a high school certificate