Light Clock Example this is not HW

In summary: Yes, the speed and trajectory of a wave are independent of the source's movement.Yes, the speed and trajectory of a wave are independent of the source's movement.
slam7211
Ok I am only a physics undergrad so if this is obvious I am sorry.
I understand the concepts of SR pretty well but one thing has bugged me. In the most basic light clock example used to describe the effects of time dilation, where 2 mirrors are placed 1 ls apart on a moving boxcar with an observer on the car and not on the car. with each observer measuring the same event happening at different times. I know that the light has to hit the mirrors in both reference frames because events must always occur in all reference frames; however, the thing I don't get is in the reference frame of the observer outside the boxcar the light is moving at a diagonal in order to hit both mirrors because the mirrors are moving with respect to the observer. How do you make sense of light moving like that when bounced off of 2 flat mirrors

Physics news on Phys.org
Suppose the observer on the ground had his own light clock, would it be easier for you to understand how from the reference frame of the observer on the moving car the light would be going on a diagonal?

Not Really my point is simply light from a flat mirror should bounce straight back but it doesn't when you get to this example because events must occur, basically I'm asking if there is a better explanation than simply it happens because the event must occur

What if someone riding in the boxcar dropped a ball straight down and bounced it off the floor. From his viewpoint, the ball just moves down and up in a vertical line. Would an observer on the tracks see the same trajectory?