Maximizing Your Chances for REU Acceptance: Tips and Insights from a Scientist

• Admissions
  • Thread starter Andromeda321
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation focused on the topic of applying to REUs (Research Experience for Undergraduates). The participants shared their experiences and advice, with one emphasizing the competitiveness of the programs and the need for strong letters of recommendation. Another participant asked about including non-scientific writing experience in the application, which was encouraged by others as an important skill to highlight. The conversation concluded with well wishes and a reminder to apply to multiple programs.
Andromeda321
Hello everyone,
I was wondering if anyone here had any experience or advice for applying to REUs. I'm currently a sophomore with some research under my belt so I'm probably going to give it a shot this year. :smile:
Does anyone have any advice about getting in or know anything about specific programs? I'm interested mainly in the astronomy/astrophysics ones though I won't say no to high energy either... muchas gracias. :cool:

Physics news on Phys.org
I know the astronomy ones are very competitive. Apply to as many as you can, because they are very selective. The pay is really good usually and a great experience. I participated the summer before my senior year. Make sure you get very good letters of recommendation. If you have done some research for faculty at your university, see if any of their collaborators as taking REUs. If so, apply for those and have your research advisor contact their colleague and let them know you are applying.
Good luck cause it is somewhat of a crap shoot since many programs get 1000 applications for somewhere around 10 positions. One problem I see is that they typically go for junior level students.

Alright thanks for the responses.:smile: