Noob with a question about lightspeed travel.

In summary: Thoughts?In summary, the device would send information back to Earth at the same time it was receiving it from the star, but due to the vast distances between the devices and the stars, the information would take a longer amount of time to reach Earth.
JikeSpingleto
I would like to preface this idea by stating that I am a total noob and in no way have any right to be here haha.

I was just watching a show on the science channel "Carl Sagan's Cosmos". I am an avid viewer of basically anything on TV about the universe or physics in general. I find everything about it completely fascinating.