Exploring the Double Slit Experiment with Photons

In summary: The statistical data doesn't change with an extra detector added. If anything it would complicate things as you would have to account for the overlap of the data from the extra detector. In summary, the double slit experiment allows for the determination of the number of photons that have hit a detector, regardless of the number of defector present. If an extra detector is added to the experiment, the statistical data from the extra detector will complicate the analysis of the data.
Sumo
I'm only a first year psychology student, so I appologize for my lack of understanding. But looking at the double slit expirament described in Feynmans book QED, for example, where two slits separate a photon emitter and detector, where the separation distance of the slits determines how many photons reach the detector.

So let's say that 8% of the emitted photons are getting through to the detector. I suppose that we can assume that the other 92% are ending up elsewhere, hitting the boundry or something. I am also guessing that a wall could be interpretted as a detector, that when we say the particle must be observed that simply means that it must interact with something.

So if you change the distance between the slits so that only 4% are getting through to the detector, this means that the percent of photons ending up elsewhere increases. So if we place a second detector close by the emitter why woulndt we be able to send signals faster than light (by recording the change in photon rate)?

Physics news on Phys.org
Sumo said:
So if we place a second detector close by the emitter why woulndt we be able to send signals faster than light (by recording the change in photon rate)?
Not exactly sure what kind of scheme you are devising, but since the photon rate is due to photons (duh!), any change in photon rate will be transmitted to the second detector at the speed of light.