Polarized light filtering question.

In summary: It's a pure state without any accompanying "vertical" or "horizontal" polarization. So the "45 degree" filter has effectively converted a 50% chance of passing into a 100% chance of passing.Similarly, a 135 degree filter has the same effect on a "horizontal" photon as a 45 degree filter has on a "vertical" photon. It has the same effect on a "vertical" photon as it does on a "horizontal" photon--it converts a 50% chance of passing into a 100% chance of passing.
HooDude
Hello all, I'm new to the board here.

I have been scratching my head over an example in one of the books I was reading so I looked it up on google. I found an explanation differing from what i'd read, so I thought I would pose the question to this community and see what you think.

I have no real physics experience beyond high school, but I've been reading books for interest sake. The book I was reading that prompted this question is "The God Effect" by Brian Clegg, First Edition. On page 60 there is a description and diagram of what happens when light passes through a series of polarized filters. If unpolarized light passes through a horizontal filter and then meets a vertical filter, no light passes through the vertical filter. However, if a 45 degree polarized filter is placed between the horizontal and vertical filters, there is some light that makes it through all three filters.

The book states that light that passes through the first (horizontal) filter becomes horizontally polarized. Thus this light cannot pass through the vertical filter. However, the act of placing the 45 degree filter in line causes photons of the light to be changed so as to have a 50:50 chance of being vertically or horizontally polarized. Thus, 50% of the light to pass through the 45 degree filter will make it through the final vertical filter.