Probability: Flawed Assumptions in Picking M&M's

• Thread starter Rage Spectate
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Probability
In summary: The second case is unrealistic, but the first case is not. The probabilities change dramatically between the two cases.In summary, the conversation is about a question on a quiz where the teacher marked the student wrong for stating that the probability of picking a red M&M increases after drawing 10 non-red M&M's in a row. The student argued that this is true regardless of the percentage of red M&M's in the bag, while the teacher argued that the population size and the method of distribution can affect the probability. Ultimately, the teacher is correct in this scenario.
Rage Spectate
I am a student in an Intro. Stat. class at a local community college.

I recently got a quiz back in which the teacher marked me wrong and upon questioning with more explicit detail he still told me I was wrong.

The question:
1) The Masterfoods company manufactures bags of Peanuts Butter M&M's. They report that they make 10% each brown and red candies, and 20% each yellow, blue, and orange candies. The rest of the candies are green.

--the last question on the quiz--

c. After picking 10 M&M's in a row, you still have not picked a red one. A friend says that you should have a better chance of getting a red candy on your next pick since you have yet to see one. Comment on your friends statement.

I answered that the friend is correct that in ideal circumstances probability has increased. (ideal, such as you didn't receive a bag with 0 red M&M's) This is covered by the friends diction of "should" any how.

The teacher said the correct answer is: Your friend is speaking nonsense.

My rationale:

P(picking a red) = N(number of red M&M's) / D(total number of M&M's)

or simplified to P = N/D.

After you have drawn out 10 M&M's previously the equation can be understood as P = N / (D-10)