Civil Engineering Technology/Science questions

In summary, a civil engineering technology degree is more oriented toward hands-on lab, shop, or field work while an engineering degree is more technical and theoretical. However, if you live and work in Pittsburgh and have no other choice, a civil engineering technology degree would still be valuable.
sdelia6=63
So i have a bachelors degree in business administration and i feel like that is not enough for the life that i eventually want. so basically i have this this feeling that i should go back to school for a post-baccalaureate degree.
i have come to the conclusion, since high school really, that i want to study civil engineering.
i am looking at universities to go to and some of them offer civil engineering tech. i was just wondering what is the main focus of a civil engineering tech?
basically what's the difference between a tech and a regular engineer?
one of the universities that i am looking at in pittsburgh only offers a tech and says that they can pursue the same licensure as a normal engineer?
the program offers a lot of the same classes, however as far as calculus goes it only goes up to calcII.

i don't know, I am just confused on this whole subject
any insight to this would be great.
and if there are any civil engineering techs out there, i would love to hear about your job

phew, and thanks a lot anyone!

Physics news on Phys.org
In very general terms, an engineering technology degree is more oriented toward hands-on lab, shop, or field work while an engineering degree is more technical and theoretical.

No offense to people with engineering technology degrees, but I would recommend you pursue a degree in civil engineering. Many companies (right or wrong) will not acknowledge and engineering technology degree for an engineering position.

But if you live and work in Pittsburgh and have no other choice, a civil engineering technology degree would still be valuable.