How important is computer programming to your career?

In summary, FredGarvin says that if you are good at writing programs in a specific language, like Matlab, it can be faster than programs written in other languages. He does not think that speed is always important, but it can be helpful if the program is going to be run a lot. Minger says that if someone is good at writing code in a specific language, like Python, it will be faster than code written in other languages. He does not think that speed is always important, but it can be helpful if the program is going to be run a lot.
Greg Freeman
I'm an aerospace engineer, currently job hunting, but I'm keeping myself occupied by refreshing my memory in c++ programming. I've had a course on it, but that was a few years ago, and I have mainly been using Matlab instead (for about 4 years now).

I wanted to know, as mechanical/aerospace engineers, how often do you use your computer programming skills? I know CAD and analysis programs are important, but how often are you out there, coding a new tool or programming a device?

Physics news on Phys.org
I would say knowing something like matlab/mathcad/mathematica/Excel is more useful than C++. You often need to do calculations that are a pain by hand but C++ would be overkill.
The only problem with these packages is happening to know the one that is used/installed in your company.
If you really want to program look at python + numpy.

I am a graduate student involved in CFD...so obviously programming is vital. We do all of our coding in FORTRAN 90.

If I wasn't, then it really depends. After I learned FORTRAN, I found that unless I was doing Matrix mathematics, I would write a faster, better program in FORTRAN than I could in Matlab. The only thing Matlab could do better was graph the results.