Achromat lens - magnifying LCD

In summary, the post-doc suggested using an achromat lens to magnify the image taken by the camera, but the lens may not be as effective as expected. The camera does have an AV out, but there is no space to put an LCD monitor. The post-doc is looking for a 3X magnification.
bemaitea
Hello all!

Again I am a lost molecular biologist in the realm of physics, but this question shouldn't be so difficult!

We are using an Olympus microscope to take pictures of our live cultures here in the lab and we have a real REAL old nikon attached to it to take pictures. I want to be able to magnify this thing so we have a nice view finder to proof our shots.

Another post-doc, who is a mechanical engineer, suggested using an achromat lens for a quick and effective fix. He's gone to a conference for the next week so I'm left with no guidance!

I've done a rough sketch of what the situation is...

http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/6290/achromat.png

I'm going to be picking up the lens from http://www.surplusshed.com/.

I have no idea at all which lens would be best. From what physicis I DO remember, in order for magnification to occur I'll need the object inside the focal length of the lens, yeah? I know that should work for a convex lens, but I have no idea the physics of an achromat lens...

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
You want to just magnify the LCD screen on the camera to view the image you took?

That probably isn't going to help, the LCD only has a limited number of pixels, magnifying it just shows you bigger pixels (whatever you see on CSI).
If it's a matter of being able to see the display - does the camera have a video out? Most digital cameras, even small compacts have a headphone type socket somehwere that you can plug into a TV/monitor to show the pictures

Hi mgb!

Thank you for the quick response.