Relation between mass and velocity

In summary, the momentum of a particle is proportional to its velocity. This is why increasing the velocity of a heavier object will result in a decrease in its mass.
sundar0206
Hi fellas..

I am not so good with physics .. Clearly defined because I am a programmer... I came across this question during one of my simulation experiments .

I was using RK4 integrator to solve equations . Which means i feed in momentum to calculate the velocity.

Momentum = mass x velocity

I hope i did get that equation correctly. This meant that to find the velocity i multiple momentum with inverse mass. .
So for increasing the velocity of the particle u decrease the mass .. but is nt it a practical observation that a heavier object falls down faster...? Am i wrong in saying this? can someone tell me the physics behind it?

Physics news on Phys.org
P = mv (momentum = mass x velocity). Mass doesn't change (so long a v is less than 10% of the speed of light). If v decreases then so will p. So momentum is proportional to velocity, with mass being the constant.
This should be fine unless your modling massless objects (light), or very fast objects (over 10% of the speed of light), in which case it gets more complex.

A complete relativistic relation is

E2 = (m c2)2 = (m0c2)2 + (pc)2
where pc = momentum in energy units (divide by c to get momentum) (note: the mass used in the momentum is the relativistic mass)
E = total energy
m = relativistic mass
m0 = rest mass

Example problem: If a moving neutral particle decays into two photons, a 500-MeV photon and a 600-MeV photon, with an opening angle of 60 degrees, what is the rest mass of the neutral perticle?
After balancing transverse momentum, the longitudinal momentum (pc units) is
pc = 600 cos(27 degrees) + 500 cos(33 degrees) = 953.94 MeV
E = 500 + 600 = 1100 MeV
Therefore
m0c2 = sqrt[11002 - 953.942] = 547.72 MeV
The closest particle is the eta meson, with a rest mass of 547.30 MeV.