What speed is something moving at right before it stops?

• Thread starter Dave Turley
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Speed
In summary: I think the question can be simplified to this: does a stationary object ever stop moving?In summary, Dave is struggling to understand a question about physics. He asks for help, and the community provides feedback.
Dave Turley
I am totally new to physics and do not study it what so ever. I do however find it extremely interesting and one question that has always puzzled me is -

If some thing is moving and it comes to a complete stop, at what speed was it traveling at right before it stops?

what ever speed you come up with surely you can half that speed again and again.

The only conclussion i can come up with is that it never actually stops or it's never moving to begin with.

Someone please help me with this. Share your thoughts with me. If you think I am talking rubbish please tell me with an explanation as to why.

Regards

Dave.

Physics news on Phys.org
The problem is, what do you mean by "right before"? Whatever amount of time you pick before the time it stops, you can half that time again and again too. For example, if it was decelerating at 1 meter/second^2, then 1 second before it stopped it was moving at 1 meter/second, 0.5 seconds before it stopped it was moving at 0.5 m/s, 0.25 seconds before it stopped it was moving at 0.25 m/s, etc.

exactly right! this is just another part of the question with the same meaning. i have tried to understand this one too. it all makes my head hurt lol

so my question still stands...does it actually ever stop?