Building a 2ft Push Button Flag Pole: A Beginner's Guide

• Thread starter toogr82h8
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Design
In summary, the conversation covers the topic of building a push button flag pole and how to make it stop at a certain point using a one way pulley system and various electronic components such as SR flip-flops, h-bridge drivers, and logic gates. They also discuss issues with a '71 350 engine and potential solutions involving checking vacuum lines, adjusting screws on the carb, and using carb cleaner. The conversation also suggests using an electric automobile antenna mechanism for the flag pole and describes a possible setup using pulleys, microswitches, a push button, and a motor.
toogr82h8
Hello Everyone,

Okay so I am new to the engineering stuff and am starting off with some basic ideas. I won't get into all of them but I had a question.

I want to build a push button flag pole. I am talking something maybe 2 feet tall that would raise and lower one of those small scall flags. It is novelty but I am trying to learn some basic stuff before I start going bigger.

I know I could build a one way pulley system but I don't know how to make the thing stop at a certain point and stuff.

Thanks for the help.

Feel free to ask me about anything relating to old chevy motors!

Donnie

Engineering news on Phys.org
toogr82h8 said:
Hello Everyone,

Okay so I am new to the engineering stuff and am starting off with some basic ideas. I won't get into all of them but I had a question.

I want to build a push button flag pole. I am talking something maybe 2 feet tall that would raise and lower one of those small scall flags. It is novelty but I am trying to learn some basic stuff before I start going bigger.

I know I could build a one way pulley system but I don't know how to make the thing stop at a certain point and stuff.