Scope of PhD((or MS/PhD from US)) in A&A?

• Programs
  • Thread starter PriyankB
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Scope
In summary, following books are required to prepare yourself for undergraduate physics exams: Mathematical methods in physical sciences, classical mechanics, electrodynamics, quantum mechanics. US Universities admit B. Tech students to MS-PhD programmes in A&A. Admission procedure for US Universities is not clear, but most likely GRE is required. A PhD in A&A would entail a lot of work and difficulty securing a position in academia or in a research institute.
PriyankB
Hi,

I am a first year student of ECE in India, I am really really interested in Astronomy and Astrophysics and was hoping to get into a BS in Physics program in IIT Kanpur or IISc Bangalore however I fell short of it in JEE. However after doing a bit of searching online I see that several institutes in India like IUCAA, IISc, NCRA-TIFR, RRI, IIA etc. take BE/B. Tech students for PhD/Integrated PhD in A&A. But I am really confused regarding the following:

1.) The entrance exam to all the above mentioned institutes((like JEST, INAT, IIAEST, etc.)) are largely based on undergrad or grad level physics and maths, which my engg. course won't prepare me for, so how do I prepare for these exams by myself? Is it even practically possible? If so please suggest some books and strategies to self-study undergrad level physics and maths.

2.) Do US Universities admit B. Tech students to MS-PhD programmes in A&A? If so what exactly is the admission procedure? Which papers of GRE would I have to answer and how do I prepare for them? Would I need to do internships/research projects/etc? If so, how do I find these in India?