Potential of a long charged wire

In summary, Rafael Andreatta says that the potential of a charge distribution can be calculated by this equation: $\varphi(x; y; z) = \int_{all \ sources}^{ } \frac{\rho(x'; y'; z')dx' \ dy' \ dz'}{4\pi \varepsilon_{0}r } where the integral diverges if the charge is not confined to a finite region of space. This equation is better to use when the zero of potential is located close to the charge.
Taturana
I'm studying electromagnetism through a book of Purcell and I'm having trouble in some point...

The book tells me that I can calculate the potential of any charge distribution by this equation:

[tex]\varphi(x; y; z) = \int_{all \ sources}^{ } \frac{\rho(x'; y'; z')dx' \ dy' \ dz'}{4\pi \varepsilon_{0}r } [/tex]

So, the book says more things about this equation and I don't understand some things...

[PLAIN]http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/8237/electricimagnetism1.jpg

1. Why the integration above won't work unless all sources are confined to some finite region of space? I understand it won't work if the charges are spread in all dimensions of the space... but if it's spread only in one dimension (like a infinitely long charged wire) the integration will work normaly (you just need to take the reference point as a point which has an infinite distance from the wire, r = +inf), isn't it?

2. What does he mean with "the integral diverges"? Why do we get an infinite result?

3. He says that we haven't this difficulty (charges not confined to an finite region of space) in calculating the electric field of the infinitely long wire because the contributions of elements of the line charge to the field decrease so rapidly with distance. Why? What the "decrease speed" of the electric fields has to do with the possibility to calculate the electric field of charges that are not confined to a finite region of space?