Learning Calculus from text books

In summary, people generally recommend taking classes to learn calculus, and if you're like Luke and have a skill for self-learning, then a library may be a good option.
Luke101
Hey there people, I've got a fascination with the sciences, especially Physics. In a year or two I'll have the time to possibly study it at Uni. Most likely entering as a mature student.

Anyways, I plan on using this time up until then on getting my Maths up to scratch.

The last time i studied Math's was at the age of 16, I'm now 22 and dare say I've forgotten everything. In school I was'nt exactly the model student either, i only got a C.

So, could I possibly get a few suggestions on what books to purchase? I don't want to just buy a Calculus book and struggle as if been thrown in the deep end, Is there a book out there with a section dedicated to getting other areas of Math's up to scratch to be ready to study Calculus?

Thank you for your time in reading this,

Luke

Physics news on Phys.org
Luke101 said:
Hey there people, I've got a fascination with the sciences, especially Physics. In a year or two I'll have the time to possibly study it at Uni. Most likely entering as a mature student.

Anyways, I plan on using this time up until then on getting my Maths up to scratch.

The last time i studied Math's was at the age of 16, I'm now 22 and dare say I've forgotten everything. In school I was'nt exactly the model student either, i only got a C.

So, could I possibly get a few suggestions on what books to purchase? I don't want to just buy a Calculus book and struggle as if been thrown in the deep end, Is there a book out there with a section dedicated to getting other areas of Math's up to scratch to be ready to study Calculus?

Thank you for your time in reading this,

Luke