Find the Current passing through the Resistor.

In summary, the poster is seeking help with finding the current passing through R1 and R5 in a circuit problem. They have provided a picture and their attempted solution, using three main equations for the left, middle, and big right loops. However, there was a typo in their original post where they meant to find the resistance through R1 and R5. In response to a reply, the poster is questioning whether they should have subtracted the second voltage in the equation for the big right loop due to the opposite polarities of the batteries in the third loop. The reply confirms this and suggests using clockwise direction for the loop.
Lawlbear
Hi, forum. This is my first time posting and I was curious if someone would mind looking over my work for a problem? I need to find the current passing through R1 and R5, the picture below shows the problem and my attempt at a solution.

In the picture there are three main equations I used, left means the left loop of the circuit, middle means the middle loop, and big right means the loop excluding the left loop. Also at the very bottom the follows sentence gets cut off on the scan, it should say: "I5=3.46A so current passing through R5=3.46"

Thanks in advance for any help and corrections!
EDIT: I had originally put "find the resistance through R1 and R2" This was a typo, I meant find the Resistance through R1 and R5.

http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/8044/scan0003tu.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
In your third loop, comprising V1, V2, R5, and R3, note that the two batteries have opposite polarities; as you traverse the loop, you should see a voltage rise from one and a voltage drop from the other.

Thank you for your reply. Does this mean I should have subtracted the second voltage(V2) in the equation of my big right loop?