Discover the Force of Levitation with Magnets: Levitron Physics Explained

In summary, the Levitron is a device that uses the force of magnetism to levitate objects in the air. By placing a permanent magnet on top of an electromagnet, the two opposing forces create a stable equilibrium, allowing the object to float. This phenomenon is based on the principles of Lenz's Law and the right-hand rule of magnetism. The Levitron not only showcases the power of magnets, but also demonstrates the intricate relationship between electricity and magnetism in physics.
soccer1187
hi, I am new to this i hope someone can help
i have a small problem with what formula i should use for my project

i have this magnetic toy that is called the levitron and it levitates this magnetic top over a bass that is also a magnet. I am trying to find the force between the two magnets.

here is the link if you need any more information. http://www.levitron.com/physics.html

Physics news on Phys.org
Assuming that the top is just sitting above the base, the force is exactly equal to the weight of the top! And it is probably easier to weigh the top than to find all of the data you would need to calculate the magnetic force.

HallsofIvy said:
Assuming that the top is just sitting above the base, the force is exactly equal to the weight of the top! And it is probably easier to weigh the top than to find all of the data you would need to calculate the magnetic force.

thats what i thought when i started this project, but to take this simple step and stretch it out into a 6 page report and a 10 min presentation is a little complicated

1. What is levitation and how does it work?

Levitation is the phenomenon of an object being suspended in the air without any physical support. In the case of the Levitron, it works by using a magnetic field to counteract the force of gravity on the spinning top, allowing it to float in mid-air.

2. How does the Levitron demonstrate the force of magnetism?