Recommend Quantum Mechanics texts

In summary, Ingrid graduated with a Bachelors in Civil Engineering and is now a structural engineer. She has an interest in Quantum Mechanics and is looking for a textbook to start studying the subject. She recommends ZeroPivot's book, Modern Quantum Mechanics, which is an older edition. She also recommends brushing up on your linear algebra before starting the course.
Jmmergens
Hi all,

I graduated a few years ago with a Bachelors in Civil Engineering and now work as a structural engineer. I have an interest in learning about Quantum Mechanics, more or less because I am a nerd and I like learning these kinds of things. As a part of my degree I took Mulivariable Calculus, the typical undergrad Calc based physics series, linear algebra, differential equations, statics, dynamics, and mechanics of materials.

I don't know if this is enough pre reqs to begin study on the topic of Quantum Mechanics, but if it is would anyone be able to recommend a textbook to order? Or additional topics that need to be studied prior? Older editions would be preferred as they can be acquired cheaper.

Thanks for the advice!

Physics news on Phys.org
Introduction to Quantum Mechanics by David J Griffiths
Modern Quantum Mechanics by J. J. Sakurai

Personally I do not recommend Weinberg's book as a textbook... because the notation is so hard to handle... it may better to serve as an important reference...

Aworrystudent, thank you for the recommendations, I will check them out.