Formulas for Transformer Calculations

In summary, the speaker is an EET student who is struggling with their professor's teaching style. They are currently trying to complete a take-home test on transformer calculations and are having difficulty finding reliable resources. They express their desire for formulas to help them understand the material better, but not to cheat on the test. They also mention a bookmarked website that may be helpful for their studies.
tyir1839
I am an EET student. The professor I have is not very thorough in his examples and if you can't keep up with him or have x-ray vision to see through him to the board while he is working the problems then you just don't get the information needed. That said, I am currently trying to do a take home test that involves calculating values for transformers, with hardly any notes and trying to teach myself through the book...which by the way is as mixed up as the problems and notes that I do have. I was wondering if anybody knows where I can find formulas for doing just about any calculation on single and three-phase transformers. I'm not trying to cheat and don't want answers to my test, I am just trying to give myself a fighting chance at passing a class that I am currently failing miserably.

Engineering news on Phys.org
I have this site bookmarked: http://www.federalpacific.com/university/university.html

Good luck.

1. What is the formula for calculating the turns ratio of a transformer?

The formula for turns ratio is Np/Ns = Ep/Es, where Np is the number of turns on the primary coil, Ns is the number of turns on the secondary coil, Ep is the voltage on the primary side, and Es is the voltage on the secondary side.

2. How do you calculate the power rating of a transformer?