Prove that the inverse of an integer matrix is also an integer matrix

In summary: I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, I am studying on my own, not in college and not many other resources to turn to.If A is invertible, and det A = 1 or det A = -1, then the inverse of A is also invertible.
bigevil

Homework Statement

A is an invertible integer matrix. Prove that if det A = 1 or det A = -1, then the inverse of A is also an integer matrix.

Also prove the reverse, if A-inverse is an integer matrix then its determinant is 1 or -1.

Homework Equations

I'm not too sure how to start here. My first instinct is to work backwards from some properties of determinants that I know of.

det A-inv = det A
det [A(A-inv)] = det(A)det(A-inv) = det(A) det(A) = det I = 1, so det A = 1 or -1.

Same can be proven for A-inv, det (A-inv) det (A-inv) = det I = 1, so det A-inv = 1 or -1.

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm not so sure how to approach this from here. Sorry if this is a stupid question, I am studying on my own, not in college and not many other resources to turn to.

Physics news on Phys.org
One method of finding the inverse of a matrix is to set a-1ij[/b]= Aji/d where Aji is the determinant of the "minor" (matrix you get by removing jth row and ith column) and d is the determinant of A. If A is [itex]\pm 1[/itex], what does that tell you?

Halls, I'm not sure if I'm familiar with that equation. Do you mean the adjoint matrix of A, ie, A-1 = Adj (A) / det A? Also not very sure about your question, what do you mean by A is +1 or -1?, the determinant?

If det A = 1 or -1, then the adjoint = inverse.

I have thought of something, not sure if this is the track you're pushing me along:

If det A = 1 or -1, then

A det A = I = A A-1. Given A is an integer matrix, and already given that det A is an integer, then A-1 is also an integer matrix. Does that fit together right?