Looking for advice regarding mathematics in business (Business math)

In summary, an undergraduate degree in mathematics is a good foundation for a career in applied mathematics, finance, or actuarial science, but other courses may be necessary to be fully prepared for the job market.
ssayani87
Hello all,

I just finished my undergraduate degree in mathematics last December and I'm trying to figure out how to proceed in the future with my math degree. I am more interested in applied mathematics and am trying to get some advice as to what field to specialize in; I'm looking for something heavily mathematics based (I want to use a LOT of math in whatever field I end up in!), involving a lot of analytical thinking and modeling, teamwork/presentation of ideas and, based upon my interests, something based in the business world.

Going on the research and soul searching that I have been doing since I graduated, I'm thinking that economics, finance, or actuarial science would be a good fit for me. As well, I would like to stay away from accounting. I did not take any econ, finance, or actuarial science classes during my undergrad but I also don't have a problem with taking a couple of years or so to catch up on any classes that I would need to take.

Can anybody put in their 2 cents?

Physics news on Phys.org
I’ve been working as an actuarial analyst for a few years and am not too far from getting my first designation. Actuarial work is business work, not science or mathematics. It fits much of your description of what you are interested in (analytical thinking, modeling, teamwork, presentation), but if you’re expecting to be doing differential equations all day you’ll be disappointed. Actuaries study mathematics to first give them a proper state of mind when doing their work, and second to provide a foundation with which they can create and evaluate models.