Second order circuit with 2 capacitors to differential equation

In summary, Nick tried substituting equations for currents in the circuit, but got stuck. He then figured out how to solve the problem algebraically.
nicksname
hello i need help with this,

what is the differential equation for the voltage v2 (t).

http://www.imageurlhost.com/images/mc2qqp4kax37kvm51h1h_circuit.jpg

sorry for my english

Physics news on Phys.org
welcome to pf!

hello nicksname! welcome to pf! :wink:

show us what you've tried, and where you're stuck, and then we'll know how to help! :smile:

i know how it works with inductors. to find differential equation v with KVL (Kirchhoff's current law). but I've never done it before for the capacitor to v2(t). writing. i know I need to use Kirchhoff's voltage law. but that it is.

Gah I need help with a similar problem and it's frustrating that it's not solved yet. I know how to substitute when there's an inductor and a capacitor, but it beats me how to do it when the energy savers are both the same circuit element.

So far I've got 2 helpful mesh equations (my problem has 3, but i used the last one to define the currents in terms of voltage derivatives) and I've replaced all the currents by Cdu/dt, but I don't know what to do next to get rid of the du/dt for the first capacitor. It looks like I could cancel out the Uc1s by substituting the equations into each other, but I need some other equation that I can't think of yet for the first du/dt I mentioned.

You may have two different currents in the two lower wires so you should set up two first order differential equations describing those. If you are required to have a single equation, you can combine those into a single second order equation for for either one of the currents.

HallsofIvy said: