Solution to 1st order nonlinear differential equation

In summary, the conversation is about a PhD student in Operations Management seeking help with a differential equation they have encountered while modeling a concept. The equation is of the form y'[t]+A[t]*(y[t])^2+B[t]*y[t]+G[t]=0 and the student is looking for a solution in terms of A[t], B[t], and G[t]. Various suggestions are given, such as using a power series substitution method, considering the equation as a Riccati equation, or using the 'dsolve' function in MATLAB. It is noted that the equation is quite complex and may not have an analytical solution, but a particular solution can be found if one knows a specific solution. The conversation also mentions the possibility of using
gulruozkan
Hi,
I'm a PhD student in Operations Management, and I've stumbled across a differential equation while modeling an OM concept. I was wondering if you could help me with this differential equation, or direct me in a way that would help me solve it.

The equation is:
y'[t]+A[t]*(y[t])^2+B[t]*y[t]+G[t]=0.

As you can see, y, A, B, G are all functions of t. Unfortunately, due to nature of the functions A, B and G, I cannot transform the above equation into y'[t]+(y+J[t])^2=0, which would help me use substitution and solve the above equation. If I can get y[t] solution as a function of A[t}, B[t] and G[t], it would really help me with my research.

Thanks a lot for your help in advance.

Gulru

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm by no means an expert of DE's, but the format of your equation looks like it might lend itself to a power series substitution method - it would be a certain amount of brute force, but since you're interested in applications it might suffice.

lzkelley said:
I'm by no means an expert of DE's, but the format of your equation looks like it might lend itself to a power series substitution method - it would be a certain amount of brute force, but since you're interested in applications it might suffice.