Calculating energy requirements for heavy runners

• Thread starter andrewdickson
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Energy
In summary, Andrew needs to know about the physics of motion and the relationship between mass and acceleration in order to use F=MA.
andrewdickson
Hi All...

This is my first time, be gentle.

It was a long time ago that I studied stage 1 physics during my biochemistry degree (yes, I know biochemistry was a cop-out) and I am having trouble figuring out a way to express the energy requirements for different body weight runners. Basically someone quoted F=MA to me to describe why a man weighing 90kgs running at a constant speed of 4m/s would require more force than a man weighing 60kgs also running at a constant speed of 4m/s. Now I know that it is obvious that the bigger bloke must exert more force but it seems that F=MA is not the formula to show this. What I really want to do is work out the relationship between body weight and force required to move that body weight at a constant speed.

Any ideas?

Thanks all,
Andrew (from New Zealand)

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

Hi Andrew! Welcome to PF! :smile:
andrewdickson said:
Basically someone quoted F=MA to me to describe why a man weighing 90kgs running at a constant speed of 4m/s would require more force than a man weighing 60kgs also running at a constant speed of 4m/s. Now I know that it is obvious that the bigger bloke must exert more force but it seems that F=MA is not the formula to show this. What I really want to do is work out the relationship between body weight and force required to move that body weight at a constant speed.

Yes, at constant speed, the acceleration (A) is zero, so F = MA doesn't help at all! :biggrin:

At constant speed, the forces must balance, so the horizontal force from the muscles must equal the air resistance.

So weight doesn't come into it, though frontal surface area certainly does. :smile: