How long do you guys study physics / week?

In summary, the students in this conversation discuss their study habits for physics courses. Some mention studying 3 hours a day, while others study up to 8 hours a day, with some even working up to 90 hours a week while in undergrad. The amount of time spent studying depends on the individual, with some finding it easier to absorb material and others needing to put in more effort. It is generally recommended to treat studying like a job, and to devote at least 8 hours a day to it.
skitzz88
Hey guys I've started physics a few weeks ago and it seems like I have to study like 3 hours a day to keep up with the class and the material. How long do you guys study / week?

Physics news on Phys.org
skitzz88 said:
Hey guys I've started physics a few weeks ago and it seems like I have to study like 3 hours a day to keep up with the class and the material. How long do you guys study / week?

Pfftt. When I was in undergrad, I studied about 60 hours per week outside of class. When I was working at a startup, I worked 60-90 hour weeks. Now it's down to a more regular 40 hours a week. 3 hours a day?...

In my undergrad I mucked about a lot, studied about 10 hours on top of classes

This will be different for lots of people. Basically you have to consider your time at Uni as your job and treat it as such. That means at least an 8 hour day, so if your lectures take up 5 hours/day then you owe at least another three in the evening...outrageous huh?

During my undergrad years I was perpetually skint so had to take a part-time job which ate into that a lot, so the course was twice as tough. As Zapper says, if you want to progress in Physics you have to try and get the best grade possible at undergrad (1st class honours) and that means living and breathing the damn stuff.