How to measure the frequency of a person humming?

In summary, the conversation revolves around a project to determine the musical note of someone humming by using a microphone, amplifier, and bandpass filter. The question of using FFT to determine the frequency of the fundamental is raised, and the concept of FFT is explained in layman's terms. It is also suggested to use a DFT implementation for better accuracy. The conversation also discusses the potential problems with counting the number of zero crossings and the need for a good quality microphone and amplifier. Additionally, it is mentioned that someone has successfully built a guitar tuner using a similar approach and it is recommended to explore this option further.
gotem3303
Im currently enrolled in embedded systems (so bare with me, I am not too experienced) and we had to come up with a final project for ourselves. Well, I would greatly appreciate some help in understanding some concepts of DSP.

I am working with the freescale DEMOACKIT with the coldfire MCF51AC256.

My project will have someone hum into a microphone, and output to a display the musical note that person was humming.

I want to know if I could get by accomplishing this by amplifying the microphone output, putting it through a bandpass filter, then counting the number of zero passes and determing the frequency of the note that way. Would this work? I am not going for dead on accuracy everytime I use the device, as long as it gets it right most of the time I would be very happy. But, if there is a better way that is doable for me that would get me 100% accuracy, or close to it, I would definitely try.

Would there be a better way? Again, I am very new to the subject, especially DSP, so layman's terms would be very helpful!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Why not simply use FFT to determine the frequency of the fundamental?

f95toli said:
Why not simply use FFT to determine the frequency of the fundamental?