Relationships in an academic career - the 'when' question

In summary, the author is a Bachelor student planning to pursue an academic career. He thinks about when he will be able to have a relationship and is scared because he might have to move away from the girl he likes. He thinks that anyone who enters into a relationship with him will have to accept everything about him, just as he will have to accept everything about her. He is currently engaged and is planning to get married soon.
powerflow
Hi,

I am currently a Bachelor student in Physics, and I am planning to pursue an academic career. If everything works out as planned, I am going to obtain my Bachelor degree in the summer and my Master degree 2 years later.

Sometimes, when I look ahead with this plan in mind, I wonder whether and how I could have a relationship. Although I would definitely consider myself a workoholic, I could never imagine myself living my life without a lovely and loving woman by my side. But as far as I understand what an academic career is composed of, my future should look something like this:

- 2 hectical and difficult years of Master studies
- Afterwards, 3 years of doctorate studies, most probably in a dfferent city or country
- Afterwards, I'll be a post-doc somewhere, and will probably have to move a couple of times according
- If I shall do well, this wandering life will continue for some time, always (in the first place) led by my developing research interests

This makes me wonder when I will be able to have a relationship? I certainly am not now (examns, then Bachelor thesis and more examns). But if, say, in my Master studies I'll meet a nice girl, most probably our ways will separate after the Master. And if, as a doctorate student, I'll meet someone nice, then probably our ways will separate after the doctorate. Seriously, distances can be huge (say, one goes to USA, the other one stays in Europe, which is certainly not a far-fetched scenario).