How do I size a motor to steer a vehicle?

In summary: I'm not an engineer, I'm a driver" :)The person is investigating the feasibility of implementing a drive by wire system on an SUV and seeking assistance determining the load requirement for steering effort. They mention that braking force is widely published as roughly 150 lbs of pressure, but are unable to find a similar estimate of force needed to turn a steering wheel. They are looking for a rule of thumb for sizing a 12v DC motor in a chain drive application. The person then explains that they think to have a sprocket welded (or similarly attached) to the steering shaft between the steering column and the power steering unit. The motor would be able to drive the steering shaft via a chain, and when the electric motor is unpowered
LeenSTL
I'm looking into implementing some parts of drive by wire on an SUV and need assistance determing the load requirement for steering effort. Braking force is widely published as roughly 150 lbs of pressure but I am unable to find a similar estimate of force needed to turn a steering wheel. I'm looking for a simple rule of thumb for sizing a 12v DC motor in a chain drive application. The motor might be a stepper motor or servo for ease of control.

My current thinking is to have a sprocket welded (or similarly attached) to the steering shaft between the steering column and the power steering unit. The motor would be able to drive the steering shaft via a chain, and when the electric motor is unpowered the vehicle would be manually steerable (assuming that the ignition key is in place and the steering column is unlocked). The chain would retain alignment in spite of any flexing due to rough road conditions, out of balance tires etc. Some older marine autopilot drives work this way; they even have a nice failsafe clutch in the middle!