ME Undergrad research (Thermo/Robotics/Aerospace)

In summary, the individual is in their second year of Mechanical Engineering undergrad and has been offered a position in a Robotics lab, but is unsure if they should accept due to their interest in both Robotics and Thermophysics. They are also considering pursuing Aerospace Engineering for their Master's and Doctor's degree. The conversation offers advice to try both propulsion and robotics, and emphasizes the importance of research experience regardless of the specific field. Ultimately, the individual decides to go for the Robotics lab position for now.
Hobold
Hello there, Physics forum.

I'm in second year of Mechanical Engineering undergrad and I would like to do research.

I have been offered a position in Robotics lab, but I am not sure if I should accept.

Thing is: there are two fields I'm interested right now: Robotics and Thermophysics, but they aren't really related to each other.

I would straighly accept the position in Robotics if my course wasn't almost completely turned to Thermodynamics and Thermophysics (in fact, it's often called Thermal Engineering insted of Mechanical Engineering) plus my university is widely recognized for being strong in Thermo, one of the leading research institute in Latin America (and certainly the best in the country), but Robotics isn't that good.

But, in fact, I want to follow to Aerospace Engineering for Master's and perhaps Doctor's degree (but my university has no specific laboratory).

So, my main question would be: what would be better? Accept the position in Robotics lab or attempt to enter a Thermo-based lab?

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't know what particular in aerospace interests you however, if you want to go into propulsion, just stick with the thermo track. If not, the Robotics track will probably help you if you wanted to go into flight controls. Otherwise you'll be doing tons of make up courses.