Creating an OS: Understanding the Basics of Programming and Text Editors

In summary, the conversation discusses the early methods of programming and bootstrapping computers, including the use of front panels, paper tape, patch panels, and EEPROM programmers. The conversation also mentions the development of the Apple ][ and the use of EEPROMs in computer programming. The conversation ultimately leads to the question of how the first computers and EEPROMs were programmed, with one suggestion being to manually enter the code using switches on the computer itself.
jd12345
I am afraid this is going to be a very stupid question but nonetheless i am asking: -

I have been programming for 6 months now and i always program on a text editor. I learned that an OS is also a program which is first loaded onto the computer. Also the text editors are also computer programs.

But I don't understand how text editors and the OS were programmed in the first place?
Where do you "type" programs when you don't have an operating system and text editor yet?

Technology news on Phys.org
These days on another computer.

I am not sure how the early programs were transferred to the computer memory, I do remember reading about some kind of a switchboard (if that's the correct word to use) that was used in one of the very early computers - programming was done just by flipping the switches. But that was in the absolute beginning, I am sure there were many much more sophisticated ideas used later.

Last edited:
Devils said:
Front panels, paper tape, patch panels etc; and bootstrap from there.

But you already need some equivalent of BIOS to use these, don't you? There is already a code needed to execute the bootstrap procedure. This is the part I am missing.

The 'loader' was in EEPROM (a non-volatile memory chip) which was programmed with an EEPROM programmer.

http://www.electronickits.com/kit/complete/prog/ck1707.htm

Devils said: