Is my country's biology low standard?

In summary, the conversation discusses the varying science education standards among different countries, as seen through the TIMSS data from 2003. The conversation also touches upon the role of factors such as national IQ, teaching methods, and social influences on academic achievement. Additionally, the conversation raises questions about the correlation between market economy and educational success.
Mafer
Well, I am in secondary school. But now, I am just learning about bones, vertebrae, and all that, is that slow? Where can I get more information?

Biology news on Phys.org
Well it depends what you're actually learning (people at university learn about bones, and so do people at nursery). I suppose it also depends at what age you start secondary school, and by what you're comparing your country to.

In addition to what brewnog mentioned, it also would depend on what else you've been learning about. One topic out of a biology curriculum isn't going to say much about what you'll be learning overall. There's quite a bit of flexibility about what order things are taught in biology, so you can't always compare what you're class is covering to what someone else is covering until you're completely done with the class.

TIMMS data, 2003

Mafer said:
Is my country's biology low standard?
Your nation's 2003 TIMSS science attainment score might tell you something. Is your nation listed here?:
http://nces.ed.gov/timss/TIMSS03Tables.asp?figure=6&Quest=3

• Singapore 578
    Chinese Taipei 571
    South Korea 558
    Hong Kong 556
    Estonia 552
    Japan 552
    Hungary 543
    Netherlands 536
    United States 527
    Australia 527
    Sweden 524
    Slovenia 520
    New Zealand 520
    Lithuania 519
    Slovak Republic 517
    Belgium (Flemish) 516
    Russian Federation 514
    Latvia 512
    Scotland 512
    Malaysia 510
    Norway 494
    Italy 491
    Israel 488
    Bulgaria 479
    Jordan 475

Average Score 473

Moldova 472