Exploring Nuclear Pulsed Propulsion

In summary: There are some people who might be able to help you with your demonstration project, but I would recommend you look into Nuclear Engineering board first. There are a lot of skilled people on that board who can provide you with the information you're looking for.
jeremyb
hi there

I am a middle school student who just recently read "Visions". I became very interested in nuclear pulsed propulsion and am considering doing some type of deonstration for my school science fair. (I also do 3d computer modeling and animation)

3 questions

1- is there any good sorce on the net or in a book that has good infor on nuclear pulsed propulsion
(visions only mentions is briefly)

2- I read that maybe a nuclear shockwave wouldn't be present in the absence of an atmosphere in outerspace. is this true? (I assume it isn't or the whole idea of nuclear pulsed propulsion wouldn't have been pursued)

3- any ideas on a demonstration?

thanks a lot
Jeremy Bloom

Engineering news on Phys.org
Jeremy, I am going to move this thread to the Nuclear Engineering board, where some of the skilled folks there could give you the info.

Hi jeremy,

There was decent amount of research done with nuclear pulse engines back in the 60s (I think). The project name was "Orion", so doing a google or library search on "Orion Project" would be a good place to start.

The main reason the project was scrapped was the huge problem of nuclear radiation fallout if it was used in the atmosphere.

There wouldn't be fallout if it's only used in space, but the problem then becomes the ENORMOUS weight you'd need to launch. The biggest part of one of those things would be the huge shock absorber which would be necessary to slow the acceleration down to liveable levels.