Wireless Comm: Establishing Distant Tracking Between 2 Objects

In summary: If your transmitter frequency were above 490 kHz, the signal strength would be too strong and the alert would not go off.
EEstudentNAU
Hello, I am very new to this and don't know where to start. I am interested in establishing communication between two devices. The primary goal will be to frequently track the distance between these two objects, and if the distance takes on a certain value, execute some action.

There is more to it, but that is the basics of it. Let's say a max distance of 20-30m. The devices are portable. Communication will be in open space (essentially no obstructions). Higher the frequency, the smaller the antenna?

Any help is appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
What's your budget? More specifically, describe your needs in each of the following categories:

1) How easy must it be to build and test?
2) How much can it cost?
3) How big or heavy may it be?

- Warren

EEstudentNAU said:
Hello, I am very new to this and don't know where to start. I am interested in establishing communication between two devices. The primary goal will be to frequently track the distance between these two objects, and if the distance takes on a certain value, execute some action.

There is more to it, but that is the basics of it. Let's say a max distance of 20-30m. The devices are portable. Communication will be in open space (essentially no obstructions). Higher the frequency, the smaller the antenna?

Any help is appreciated.

As chroot implies, many more details would be of help. You could just run a spring-loaded string between the objects and monitor the play in and out, eh? Why not use a string? Why does it have to be wireless?

How about laser rangefinding? Can you track it from some base station via robotic video tracking, and hit a cube corner on the target with a laser range finder? If your accuracy requirements are not too tight, just put GPS on the base station and the rover.