Magnetic field lines What do they exactly mean?

In summary: The magnetic field lines show the path an object would take if it were attracted to one pole of a magnet (and, of course, repelled by the other).In summary, the direction of a magnetic field is important in determining the direction of a force on a charged particle, and is conventionally defined in terms of magnetic field lines that show the path an object would take when attracted to one pole of a magnet. However, the true physical meaning of magnetic fields is still not fully understood and is a topic of ongoing research and discussion in the field of physics.
mishrashubham
Now this might seem like a really stupid question but I'm just a high school student so please bear with me.

I've been studying about magnetic fields and my teacher says (everyone does in fact) that in a magnetic field, the magnetic field lines start from the north pole and end in the south pole. What does she mean by that? I mean magnetic lines are just a way to represent the magnetic field and flux. So what do we mean by the 'direction' of the magnetic field. What does is signify? For example direction of a force on a body gives us the direction of acceleration which gives us the direction of the velocity. So what does this direction tell us about?

And another thing... I've read that the electromagnetic force carrier is the photon, and that too a virtual photon. So is this photon the same thing that we associate with light (because those are called real photons) or are they different? Also by terming them as virtual, do we mean that they are abstract concepts and that a name is given to them just for the sake of reference?

please help thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Put a small magnetic dipole such as a compass needle somewhere along a magnetic field line. The "north" end of the dipole points along the direction of the field line.