Designing an Ion Thruster: An Undergrad Student's Journey

In summary, the conversation discusses an undergraduate student's research project on designing and making an ion thruster. The first step involves creating an electron source using a jerry-rigged Crook's Tube with an Aluminum Foil Membrane and steel sewing needles. The student is looking for a way to calculate the electric field/potential on the surface of the needles or a metal cone. Suggestions and advice are welcomed, as well as any recommended reading material. The main difficulty of ion thrusters is ensuring durability, and the use of needles for this purpose is questionable. AC induction in a low-pressure gas is suggested as a possible alternative.
gjtrash
Hello and thanks for taking a look

I'm an undergrad student that is trying to design and make a ion thruster for my research project. I know, I should of started with something simpler. The first part of this project is creating an electron source to provide the electron beam to ionize the Argon gas.
My design is basically a jerry-rigged Crook's Tube with an Aluminum Foil Membrane at one end.

I'm Using steel sowing needles that are grouped in arrays of 1, 3, 5, 10, 20 and 25. I've looked for material with lower work functions but I'm working of a budget of a taste more then zero. I've built a Full wave rectifier power box to convert a 15kV AV to DC with 24kV, .3μF capacitance smoother caps in parallel with the Anode needle array, and cathode membrane.

what I'm trying to find is a way or method to calculate the electric field/potential on the surface of a the needles, or for simpler modeling features, a metal cone. Cone Dimensions are Cylinder length 30mm, height of cone from cylinder to tip 2.5mm, radius of cylinder is 0.35mm.