CE 317 Review QuestionsWhat are the key topics covered in CSCE 317?

• Thread starter Kapelluschsa
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Interview
In summary, the individual is a freshman at UWM pursuing a mechanical engineering degree and is required to write a paper on engineering ethics, project management, and time management based on an interview with an engineer. They are seeking help with their questions and have also asked for personal interest about the difficulty of getting a job in the engineering field and the focus of jobs on drafting and CAD. The engineer being interviewed is currently a Senior Staff Engineer in the Oil and Gas Industry and states that communication is extremely important in the field. They obtained a mix of skills from college and experience and use project schedules and task lists to stay organized. Their first job in the engineering field was working as a field service engineer on deep-sea drilling control systems.
Kapelluschsa
Hey everyone. I am a freshman at UWM working my way towards a mechanical engineering degree. For one of my classes I am required to write a two page paper on stuff like engineering ethics, project management, and time management. I have to base this on an interview held with an engineer, so i was wondering if anyone here could help me out with that? I know it isn't the most exciting series of questions (gonna be a challenge to ramble on for two pages about time management) but any help would be greatly appreciated.

1) How much do your fundamental engineering skills learned in college contribute to your profession?

2) Did you obtain most of the necesary skills needed for a career as an engineer along with your degree or did you learn a lot of it from experience in the work world?

3) How do you stay organized and manage your time? Do you use planners or keep some sort of a timeline for yourself?

4) What project management skills are most important to you?