Recommend a ( philosophy of physics ) book

In summary: They could be the principles of the theory, the assumptions the theory makes, the axioms the theory uses, the logical consequences of the theory, or anything else. Thirdly, Friedman's book is about the foundations of space-time theories, not the observations that support them. In fact, he doesn't even mention space-time theories until the very end of the book. He discusses the foundations of quantum mechanics, general relativity, and other theories. Fourthly, your understanding of what "over-analyzing the semantical content of the back cover" means is completely wrong. I'm not "over-analyzing" anything; I'm just explaining what the book
Hossam Halim
I don't know if this is the right section for my question .

Can you recommend me some good books on the field of : philosophy of physics ?
If yes, Recommend books from better to worse .

Note : i am now a high school student , i haven't read a book on this field before , i want to be a theoretical physicist and to specialize in quantum gravity .

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I can tell you there are some extremely bad books on this subject. Let me do some research and I'll get back to you.

Oh sorry, I thought you had said "philosophy of science", but actually you have asked for "philosophy of physics". There are some bad philosophy of science books that I have seen but I'm guessing you don't want a book on those usual themes, you know, Kuhn versus Popper, etc.

Last edited:
I realize this is aside the point, but how do you know enough about theoretical physics and more specifically quantum gravity to say it is your prospective career?

I said this is my ambition . I am now a high school student

@Hossam Halim

Not knowing a lot about modern physics, and assuming you don't want a book about Kuhn and Popper and all that, I'm going to have to make the assumption that you are wanting one of these things: